top of page

Emma Hippolyte says her conduct exemplary


Emma Hippolyte, the MP for Gros Islet, has said that her conduct in politics has been exemplary.

She was responding to questions from reporters about name calling in politics.

Hippolyte, who is also Minister of Commerce, Business Development, Investment and Consumer Affairs, said:

“I can speak for myself and you will realize that at every moment I have conducted myself as an honorable member of the distinguished parliament of Saint Lucia.”

However, the Emma Hippolyte would not be drawn in commenting on the conduct of her colleagues in the ruling Saint Lucia Labour Party (SLP).

“I don’t want to comment on my colleagues, I want to comment on me,” she asserted, adding: “Ask my colleagues about themselves”.

According to Hippolyte, she has committed herself to a certain standard and maintained it within and outside the parliament of Saint Lucia.

She recalled that she herself has been a victim of name calling.

It was an obvious reference to her being referred to as a “Granny” on February 7, 2016, during an opposition United Workers Party (UWP) political meeting.

The references were made by UWP Chairman, Guy Mayers, and the party’s endorsed candidate – Lennard Montoute, who will be attempting to unseat Emma Hippolyte at the next elections.

“When I was called Granny no one came and asked me how I felt,” she told reporters.

Her response to the name calling at the time was to send a message to Lenard Montoute that she would act as his Granny by putting him on her knees and spanking him “in the right place, at the right time.”


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page